“It’s all over for Christmas” 2021 World Rugby Awards

With the announcement of the winners of the 2021 World Rugby Awards over the past week, it is “picking up” winning players, coaches and teams in all leagues and countries. Just in Time for Christmas made this the perfect Christmas present for any recipient.

The rewards may seem like the equivalent of Christmas presents, but they are all given on the same day [time] of the year. And the World Rugby Awards ceremony normally takes place on Sunday evening at the end of the agreed international window in November. Yet, as with the rest of 2021, the road to the final awards announced this week “has come to an end.”

Drip to the public for a series of days, aAll categories were voted on by the World Rugby Awards Panel, an outstanding team of rugby legends who have had the difficult task of selecting the winners of the World Rugby Breakthrough, Coach and Referee awards, as well as the newly created 2021 Male and Female 15s Dream Teams.

And the women’s group (below):

The 2021 World Rugby Awards end before Christmas

Six categories were open to public voting online. From November 15 to 21, rugby fans had the opportunity to select their deserving winner for the World Rugby Men and Women 15 and 7 Players of the Year as well as the Men and Women Test of the Year on the Awards voting site.

The results showed both the popular winners and the 2022 World Rugby Awards winners whose rugby skills and prowess were evident across the globe. Each season two of the main categories are the POTY Awards for Women and Men, which means you are the “best of the best”. And this year’s winners perfectly embody that category.

The winner of the women category Zoe Aldcroft can be very pleased with her accomplishments in calendar year 2021. Beat her fellow candidates [Nominees: Caroline Boujard (France), Poppy Cleall (England), Laure Sansus (France)] the England Red Roses player can plan ahead for the Rugby World Cup next year in New Zealand to continue on this fine form.

Representing men, and although small in stature, standing atop the selection of candidates [Michael Hooper (Australia), Maro Itoje (England/British and Irish Lions), Samu Kerevi (Australia)] is the little general, Antonine Dupont (see main photo). He ended by winning the Heineken Champions Cup with Toulouse, helping France defeat the All Blacks in Paris for the first time since 1973.

Marcos Moneta, Sevens male player of the year

Anne-Cécile Ciofani, Sevens female player of the year

Men’s International Rugby Players’ Try of the Year: Damien Penaud (France, v Scotland March 26)

Women’s Try of the Year for International Women Rugby Players: Emilie Boulard (France vs. Wales April 3)

Celebrating the “best of the best” in a miserable 2021

Even if some will reflect badly on the social conditions that the global pandemic has had on rugby, the game is to be commended for “getting down to it”. Some matches were postponed but the majority continued (with or without spectators). So even though the regular schedule was severely interrupted, at the end of the year it turned out that international and domestic football looked like something like normal.

So while the annual recipients of the 2022 World Rugby Awards were finally all listed on December 10, the list included winners voted on as individuals, teams, referees and stakeholders.

World Rugby “coach of the year” 2021, Simon middleton (England Women)

Simon Middleton is making history as the first coach of a women’s team to win the prestigious award, having guided the Red Roses through a second consecutive calendar year without defeat and 18 straight wins, including back-to-back records against the Champions. world. Zealand in November.

World Rugby “Revolutionary” Player of the Year 2021, Does jordan (New Zealand)

A record 15 tries in 11 tests in 2021, including five against Tonga and a hat-trick against the United States, saw Jordan become the second-fastest All Black to reach 15 tries. He was also part of the successful Crusaders squad that won a record-breaking Super Rugby Championship five times in a row, in the Aotearoa Super Rugby Shortcut competition.

World Rugby Referee Award: Andrew Cole (Australia)

Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service: Jacques Laurans (France)

The famous men’s and women’s teams of the year were absent from the selection in 2021, both in the XV or in 7. Not an anomaly, especially since the choice may have become obsolete. The World Rugby Awards 2022 are not just the recognition of player skills, leadership and contribution needed in modern game. Among member unions, they can decide their own Teams of the Year, while the ‘dream teams’ chosen here in the XVs will be followed by groups selected to represent the 2021/22 HSBC Sevens series at the end of the season. season of this league.

Last Word on Rugby would like to congratulate all the nominees, winning players, management and stakeholders who display the values ​​and qualities that World Rugby aims to represent in the world of sport. Add your contribution to the above list on the LWOS Board of Directors Forum site and all of our social media platforms.

“Main photo credit”
Embed from Getty Images

Comments are closed.